幼儿园

英国早期教育体系EYFS

——每个孩子都是独特的个体

北京德闳作为北京德威的姐妹学校,德闳幼儿园也和德威幼儿园DUCKS同样使用英国国家课程中的早期教育体系 EYFS。在EYFS教育体系中,我们认为每个孩子都是独一无二的,每个孩子的成长发展都是独特的,这是我们开展一切工作的核心。

根据EYFS的核心教育理念,幼儿主要通过以下几种方式成长和发展:

  1. 参与到玩乐与探索之中,去寻找和发现,在熟悉的环境下玩,并且愿意去尝试;
  2. 积极主动地学习,全身参与专心致志,不断尝试,享受达成目标的乐趣;
  3. 与自己和周围的世界互动,在此过程中进行创造和批判性思考,开始形成自己的想法,学会建立联系,并选择合适的方法解决问题。

基于这些途径,在EYFS的幼儿园课堂中,老师们会主要采用以下教学方法来助力每个孩子个性化成长

  1. 我们的教师通过观察来对孩子进行形成性评估,在综合考量后做出决定,采取有针对性的策略,从而帮助他们发展;
  2. 每位学生都会由一位起到核心作用的老师,为他们建立一个充满信任、安全感和关爱的环境和网络,为孩子全人发展创造条件;
  3. 我们的教师着力打造赋能的学习环境,让孩子通过参加有意义的活动,激发思考,助力他们的成长。

                                                                                EYFS所强调的在教学中关注的核心理念

 

EYFS 强调老师在教学过程中关注的三个核心的理念:

  1. 每个孩子都是独特的个体,观察孩子在学什么
  2. 积极良好的关系,成年人可以做什么
  3. 促进成长发展的环境,成年人可以提供什么

我们相信,通过这样“定制”的方式,能够尊重每个个体成长的节奏和步调,创造条件让孩子全方面得到发展。

从小班到大班

——提前熟悉下一学段的学习体验

今年北京德闳幼儿园将招收小班(3-4岁)、中班(4-5岁)和大班(5-6岁)的学生。

在幼儿园学习环境设置上,我们会有意识地调整课堂环境,帮助孩子从逐渐从以玩乐为主要学习方式向正式的学术学习过度,从而让他们熟悉未来小学的学习体验。

而德闳小学所使用的探究式教学的元素也将融入到幼儿园的教学中。孩子们在老师的引导下有机会探索跨学科主题。德闳幼儿园的探究主题和小学的探究教学主题是相一致的,探究概念也将在德闳小学的探究课程中得到深度和广度上的进阶的发展

                                                                                    具体探究概念将根据课程进行情况有所调整

双语双文化

——让孩子会变通,会思考,会转换视角

德闳始终为中国孩子提供高质量的双语双文化教育,为孩子的全人发展创造条件。北京德闳幼儿园也将通过“双语双文化”来加强EYFS教育体系,助力孩子更好发展。我们坚信双语双文化教育能在这些方面为孩子的成长和发展带来提升:

  1. 学生可以在双语环境中进行语言的切换,从而增强语言竞争力;
  2. 学生可以在双文化环境中接受不同文化的熏陶,提升跨文化意识;
  3. 学生们通过观察、选择并运用合适的语言以及文化,增强适应性

因此在德闳幼儿园,老师们会在孩子的发展过程中,同时强调中文作为母语,以及英语作为第二语言的重要性。在教学过程中,老师们还会将文化价值观、态度以及行为融入到双文化的学习环境中。

我们会根据EYFS框架中所要学习的领域,为孩子们提供双语双文化的学习环境。

                                                                             幼儿园孩子学习和发展的领域及语言学习环境

同时也将会根据孩子的不同年龄,设置不同的语言比例,让他们慢慢适应双语双文化的学习模式。

                                                                                                       预测语言占比

德闳幼儿园为学生们配备了具有不同文化背景,教学经验丰富的老师。其中国际老师均来自英国、美国、加拿大、澳大利亚等国家,并都在非英语国家有教学经验,为孩子们带来跨学科的体验式的学习、与世界和实际相结合的学习,带领他们将学习到的知识和技能进行综合性的应用;中国老师都曾在国内知名优质的学前机构任教,她们在幼儿保育和教育方面经验丰富,能够为孩子们的学习和发展提供全方位的引导和支持,注重帮助学生学习技巧和习惯的培养,帮助学生打下扎实的母语和学科基础。

通过双语双文化的教学,孩子们能浸润在多样的国际文化中去碰撞和交流,为接下来在德闳的12年之旅做好准备。

幼儿园是每个孩子人生的第一个起点。德闳的课程体系希望通过创建一个最适合孩子发展的环境,让每个孩子都能在玩乐中学习,在探究中成长,在不同语言文化中浸润,给他们展翅的动力,在未来飞得更高更远。

学生故事

Wang Liwen在三岁时进入德闳幼儿园小班。第一天,她不敢离开父母加入其他的孩子。后来,老师精心准备了许多可以让她自由玩耍的区域,激发她的好奇心。Liwen发现自己对玩沙盘很感兴趣,于是开始在那儿搭建沙堡。老师用中英文和她谈论正在搭建的东西,帮助她找到能够表达感受的词语。因为对环境中的成人充满信任,Liwen很有安全感。同时她也知道哪些事情应该去找谁。Liwen的爸爸妈妈、爷爷奶奶和看护人也有着相同的理念,与德闳幼儿园携手合作,共同支持Liwen的茁壮成长。

随着时间的推移,Liwen的中英文双语词汇量都有所增长。在操场上蹦蹦跳跳、上下攀爬,不仅让她找到了志趣相投的朋友,还让她身体越来越棒,精神状态也越来越自信。最初,Liwen只会匆匆一瞥书中的图片。后来,在现实世界中经历了更多实践活动之后,她对书籍和阅读的兴趣与日俱增。她学会了阅读英语和中文词汇:这不仅仅是因为老师让她这么做,更是因为她体验到了各种有趣和新奇的故事。

Liwen结束了最后一年的幼儿园生活,对即将进入小学充满渴望与期待。她在幼儿园学到的社交和情感技能,加上她在两种语言方面奠定的坚实基础,都帮她做好了迎接新挑战的充分准备。

Kindergarten

In Dehong Kindergarten, we refer to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework in the English National Curriculum and enhance the framework with bilingual and bicultural development opportunities.

EYFS, the Early Years Foundation Stage

As sister schools to Dulwich College International schools, Dehong refers to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework in the English National Curriculum in kindergarten stage as DUCKS. We believe each child’s development is unique and is at the core of everything we do.

According to EYFS framework, children develop when they are:

  1. Engaged in playing and exploring through finding out and exploring, playing with what they know and being willing to ‘have a go.’
  2. Motivated to learn through activity being involved and concentrating, keeping on trying and enjoying achieving what they set out to do
  3. Interacting with themselves and the world around them through creating and thinking critically, having their own ideas, making links and choosing ways to do things

Our approaches to support each child’s development:

  1. They focus on formative assessment during processes through observation and make informed decisions to intervene.
  2. They take a key-person approach, weaving a network of trust, safety, and care for students’ holistic development.
  3. They build inviting environments that engage students in meaningful activities, provoke thinking, and scaffold student development.

                                                                                 (The EYFS Development Statements)

Overarching principles and focuses in EYFS:

  1. A Unique Child, observing what a child is learning
  2. Positive Relationships, what adults could do
  3. Enabling Environments, what adults could provide

 

From Reception to Pre-School

Getting ready for Dehong Elementary School

The gradual changes from the Reception to the Pre-School aims to support the transition from a play-based to semi-formal classroom setup to prepare students for future schooling experience.

In Dehong Kindergarten, we also incorporate inquiry-based learning which continues in elementary. Students will have the opportunity to explore transdisciplinary themes. The Dehong Kindergarten themes are in line with the themes in the elementary school inquiry programme while the conceptual lenses lead to the concepts inquired in the Elementary School inquiry programme.

                                                                          (The conceptual lenses are subject to review)

 

Bilingual and Bicultural

Enabling students to Adapt, Think and Change Perspectives

At Dehong Education, our strategy is to develop excellence in Bilingual and Bicultural Education and in Dehong Kindergarten, we enhance the EYFS framework with bilingual and bicultural development opportunities.

We believe a bilingual and bicultural education enriches children’s development through:

  1. Enhanced linguistic competency as they switch codes in a dual language environment
  2. Heightened intercultural awareness as they adopt appropriate cultural practices in a dual cultural environment
  3. Increased adaptation as they observe, choose, and decide to deploy an appropriate linguistic and cultural repertoire

In Dehong kindergarten, our teachers emphasise both Chinese as mother tongue and English as an additional language in each child’s development. They integrate cultural values, beliefs, attitudes, and behaviour into bicultural learning environments.

We will provide students bilingual and bicultural learning environment according to areas of learning and development in required in EYFS framework.

                                                    (Areas of learning and language learning environment for kindergarten students)

There will be different language proportions according to the different age groups, enabling them to gradually adapt to a Bilingual and Bicultural learning environment.

                                                                 (Predicted Weightings of Language Proportions)

Dehong teachers come from many different cultural backgrounds and bring rich teaching experiences. Our international teachers are from English speaking countries like UK, US, Canada and Australia. All of them have teaching experience in their home countries and non-English speaking countries enabling students to get interdisciplinary experiential experience and study in a diverse and real-life environment. International teachers will guide students to apply the knowledge and skills they have learned comprehensively. As for our Chinese teachers, all of them have rich early childhood education experience in well-known institutions in China and focus on supporting students develop their learning skills and behaviours, enabling them to lay a solid foundation of mother tongue and subject knowledge.

Through Dehong’s Bilingual and Bicultural Education, students can immerse in diversified international culture and get ready for their learning journey at Dehong in the future.

Student Story

Wang Liwen joined Dehong Kindergarten Nursery class at age three.  On her first day, she was scared to leave her parents and join in with the other children. Her teachers prepared many free play areas to spark her curiosity. She found herself drawn to the sand area, where she began to build a sandcastle. Her teachers talked to her about what she was creating, using English and Chinese to help her find the words to express her feelings. Liwen feels safe and supported as she trusts the adults in her environment. She also knows who to approach when she needs to talk about something. Her parents, grandparents, and carers feel the same way about supporting Liwen in partnership with Dehong Kindergarten.

Day by day, Liwen’s vocabulary in both languages grew.  She found friends who shared her interests. Her body became stronger and her spirit more confident as she jumped and climbed around the playground.  At first, Liwen only glanced at the pictures in books. Over time, after she experienced more hands-on activities in the real world, her interest in books and reading grew.  She learned to read English and Chinese words – not just because her teacher told her to, but because she knew that stories were fun and exciting. 

As Liwen finished her last year of kindergarten, she was eager and excited to move to primary school.  The social and emotional skills she learned in kindergarten, combined with her strong academic foundation in both languages, prepared her to take on new challenges.